Pioneers Memorial Hospital Foundation Presents the Margaret Award

Nick Pricola

The Pioneers Memorial Hospital Foundation presented the Margaret Award to Nick C. Pricola at its 7th Annual Gala Dinner. The Margaret Award, named for Margaret Lassey, is given to recognize an individual for outstanding service and commitment to Pioneers Memorial Hospital. Pricola, a longtime resident of Brawley, served as the PMH Foundation’s chief financial officer for over fifteen years and as its president for two years, 2005–07.  In April 2010, he was elected trustee emeritus, along with Norm Lassey, Carl Russell, Tina Aguirre, and Sherman Smith. Pricola continues to serve on the finance committee for the Foundation.

Pricola graduated from Brawley Union High School and earned his bachelors degree in accounting from Fresno State University. Following active duty in the U.S. Army, serving in Vietnam, he returned to Brawley and joined his father, Nick A. Pricola, in the family’s produce-packing business.  He later completed his certified public accounting licensing and launch his own business.  He is a member of the Lion’s Club and the Rotary Club of Brawley.  In 1997–98, he served as the Rotary Club’s district governor for Imperial and San Diego Counties.  He is currently the chief financial officer (CFO) for Rotary zones 25/26, which comprises the entire West Coast of the United States including Arizona.  He has been the CFO for three of the last four Rotary International directors for these zones. He and his wife, Kay Day Pricola, live in Brawley.

Don Shank, PMH Foundation president, stated that “the award is about the rare person who gives continually of themselves to aid, comfort, uplift, and serve others selflessly. Service to the Foundation, and by extension to Pioneers Memorial Hospital, is service to our entire community.  Nick has proven his commitment to our community, here and in Rotary. Like his parents, he is an example of the Foundation motto “The Spirit and Will to Give”.  He is sure his father would be proud of him, and we certainly are.”

Pricola joins an illustrious list of recipients – Margaret Lassey, Joyce Sutton, Tina Aguirre, Bill Gates, Leo Haggarty, and last year’s awardee, Katie Martin.