Imperial Valley Have Chosen a New Breed of Elected Officials

By Mario Conde

The election is come and gone and the people of the Imperial Valley have chosen a new breed of elected officials in the Valley.

In the Calexico School Board race, Norma Aguilar is on first place with 1,667 votes followed by Ruth Duarte with 1,228 and in third is Joong Kim with 1,379. Tony Valenzuela takes fourth place in the School Board race. Since the resignation of Ruben De La Rosa last month it’s been speculated that the board could appoint the fourth runner up to fill the two year term De La Rosa had left. The new board will have to decide what direction to take.

For Supervisor District 1, John Renison takes a strong lead over County Board Chairman Louis Fuentes with 1,905 votes against 1,464 votes Fuentes has received so far. In district five, it all looks like Wally Leimgruber will end his 12 year run as County Supervisor now that Ray Castillo has solid advantage in this district.

In the Imperial Irrigation District race, Matt Dessert has the first place with 8,519 votes and former IID Director Rudy Maldonado that has 7,307 votes.

For Heffernan Memorial District, Norma Apodaca will return to the board after a two year absence with 1,221 followed by Sylvia Bernal with 993 votes. Karla Flores and Eric Ortega follow Bernal in a very close margin.

For IVC Board of Trustees, Karla Sigmond and Steven Taylor will take their seats at the Community College District. Measure J passed with no problems and will have the expansion and renovation of Imperial Valley College.